API review

UpLead API review

Self-serve B2B contact and company database with real-time email verification; simple REST API (v2) for company, person and combined enrichment plus domain-based prospecting, 1 credit per record returned. Best for cheap, simple per-record enrichment by domain, email, or name+domain.

Verified 25 Oct 2026 · 14 endpoints listed

What a call costs

The actions you pay for, as UpLead prices them in credits.

ActionCostPer
Unlock a contact (email + mobile direct dial)1 creditper contact
API company / person / combined / prospector result1 creditper record returned (no double charge for the same record)
Extra credits$0.60 (Essentials) / $0.50 (Plus) / custom (Professional)per credit

Pricing, plan by plan

US dollars, as UpLead's pricing page shows them on 25 Oct 2026. Monthly and annual billing are shown apart.

Free tier Free Trial: $0 for 7 days, 5 credits, 1 user (no API listed)

Free Trial

$0

Free

5 credits / 7 days

No API

Essentials

$99/mo

billed monthly

$74/mo

billed annually

170 credits/month (monthly); 2,040 credits billed annually

No API
Plan details

$0.60/credit

Plus

$199/mo

billed monthly

$149/mo

billed annually

400 credits/month (monthly); 4,800 credits billed annually

No API
Plan details

$0.50/credit

Professional

Custom quote

Custom seats and credits; annual billing only

API included
Plan details

Custom

Rate limits

500 requests per minute.

More on limitsLess

Headers X-RateLimit-Limit, X-RateLimit-Remaining, X-RateLimit-Reset (epoch seconds); 429 with Retry-After.

How to get an API key

UpLead uses API key. The steps below follow UpLead's own docs.

  1. Create a UpLead account. API access starts on the Professional plan.
  2. API key in UpLead account settings; docs and /data-api/ also link a 'Get a Free API key' Google form (forms.gle/cMKiUHAUsiAnf1Gb8)
  3. Send it with every request: header Authorization: <api_key> (no Bearer prefix).
  4. Make a first call: Paginated saved lists. Keep the key in an environment variable, never in the command.
    curl -X GET "https://api.uplead.com/v2/lists" \
      -H "Authorization: $UPLEAD_API_KEY"

Where the docs live

WhatWhere
Documentationdocs.uplead.com
API referencedocs.uplead.com
Base URLhttps://api.uplead.com/v2

Strengths and limits

Where it fits

  • Cheap, simple per-record enrichment by domain, email, or name+domain
  • Prospecting contacts at a known domain by function, sub-function, management level, title and location
  • Company name to domain resolution
  • Free company logos by domain (logo.uplead.com, attribution required)
  • Not paying for bad emails: credits only deducted when email_status is Valid or Accept All

Where it falls short

  • API on self-serve plans: pricing page lists Enrichment API, Prospector Pro API and Full API Access only on Professional (annual, sales-led)
  • Intent, signals, job-change tracking or webhooks via API
  • EU-heavy outreach where phone verification depth and DNC handling matter
  • AI-agent/MCP workflows (no MCP server)
  • Bulk async jobs (no bulk endpoint; max 100 per page)

Worth knowing

  • Plan gating conflict: pricing page shows Enrichment API, Prospector Pro API and Full API Access only on Professional (annual, custom quote); docs gate Prospector Pro, Quick Search, Industries and Lists to 'Professional, Elite, and Enterprise' (Elite/Enterprise no longer on the pricing page). Docs also offer a 'free API key' Google form.
  • Auth header is the raw key: 'Authorization: <key>', no 'Bearer'.
  • Credits are only charged on contacts whose email_status is Valid or Accept All; Accept All (catch-all) still costs a credit.
  • Company name to domain matches exact name and returns the most-trafficked company; generic names can resolve to the wrong site.
  • Logo API is free only with a visible link back to uplead.com.
4 moreShow fewer
  • Preview API is reseller-only with its own terms: no storing preview data in a CRM/database, no LinkedIn scraping, re-acknowledged annually.
  • Terms: data is seeded to detect unauthorised duplication; fees non-refundable; plans auto-renew; downgrades only at renewal.
  • Pricing page currently shows a Black Friday '40% OFF Annual Plans' banner; list prices recorded as shown.
  • Monthly vs annual credit wording differs: Essentials 170 credits/month vs 2,040 billed annually (same 170/month).

Who should use it

Use UpLead for
Cheap, simple per-record enrichment by domain, email, or name+domain
Look elsewhere for
API on self-serve plans: pricing page lists Enrichment API, Prospector Pro API and Full API Access only on Professional (annual, sales-led)

If UpLead is not the answer

Other Sourcing tools in this directory, each with its own review.

Before you build

Four things to settle first, each read off UpLead's own pages.

  • Confirm the API is on your planAPI access starts on the Professional plan. Free tier: Free Trial: $0 for 7 days, 5 credits, 1 user (no API listed).
  • Keep the key out of your codeAPI key. It is sent as: header Authorization: <api_key> (no Bearer prefix).
  • Design around the rate limit500 requests per minute.
  • Know the catch before you scalePlan gating conflict: pricing page shows Enrichment API, Prospector Pro API and Full API Access only on Professional (annual, custom quote); docs gate Prospector Pro, Quick Search, Industries and Lists to 'Professional, Elite, and Enterprise' (Elite/Enterprise no longer on the pricing page). Docs also offer a 'free API key' Google form.

Want us to build it for you?

Tell us what you want UpLead to do in your stack. We will show you how we would wire it into your data, outbound or CRM, and what we would check first.

Read from uplead.com/pricing and docs.uplead.com. Verified 25 Oct 2026.

All 14 endpointsFor developers: method, path, what it does and what it costs.

Base URL: https://api.uplead.com/v2

Bulk and async: No bulk/async endpoint. Search endpoints page with per_page max 100 (Preview up to 500). Source: docs.uplead.com

14 endpoints
MethodPathWhat it doesCost
GET/POST/creditsRemaining creditsFree (not stated as charged)
GET/POST/company-searchCompany enrichment1 credit per company result; never charged twice for the same record
GET/POST/person-searchPerson enrichment1 credit per person result; for records with email, charged only if email_status is Valid or Accept All
GET/POST/combined-searchPerson + company in one call1 credit per combined result
GET/POST/prospector-searchFind contacts at one company1 credit per prospector result; count_only cost not stated
GET/POST/prospector-pro-searchSearch contacts + company details like the web app1 credit per record received (billing rule); count_only cost not stated. Documented as Professional/Elite/Enterprise plans only.
GET/POST/quick-searchFree-text search for contacts or companies1 credit per record received (billing rule). Documented as Professional/Elite/Enterprise plans only.
GET/POST/company-name-to-domainResolve company name to domain + logo (exact name match; most-trafficked company wins)Not stated
GEThttps://logo.uplead.com/{domain}Company logo imageFree with attribution (link back to uplead.com required)
GET/POST/industriesIndustry list / lookupNot stated. Documented as Professional/Elite/Enterprise plans only.
GET/POST/prospector-previewPreview matching contacts before unlocking (limited non-personal identifiers)Not stated. Resellers only; separate Preview API terms (no storing preview data, no LinkedIn scraping, annual re-acknowledgment)
GET/listsPaginated saved listsNot stated. Documented as Professional/Elite/Enterprise plans only.
POST/GET/DELETE/lists, /lists/{id}Create, retrieve, delete a listNot stated. Documented as Professional/Elite/Enterprise plans only.
GET/POST/DELETE/lists/{id}/contacts, /contacts/add, /contacts/deleteRetrieve, add, remove list contactsNot stated. Documented as Professional/Elite/Enterprise plans only.