Comparison

Attio vs Close

Attio is a flexible CRM with a free plan for up to 3 seats, API, webhooks and MCP on every plan, and upserts that block duplicate domains and emails. Close is a calling and email CRM with no free plan, a 14-day trial and seats from $9 a month billed annually, with a built-in dialer, SMS and bulk actions over saved searches.

Verified 25 Oct 2026

Pick Attio if

  • You want to start free: Attio Free covers up to 3 seats and 50,000 records with no card
  • You load records by API and want the CRM itself to stop duplicates: upserts match on domain and email

Pick Close if

  • Your reps call, email and text from the CRM: Close has built-in calling and SMS (from Essentials on its plan…
  • You want a power dialer (Growth) or a predictive dialer (Scale)

Attio

CRM

Close

CRM

At a glance

Attio

From
$44/user/moPlus monthly, $35 annual
Free plan
YesFree plan, $0, 3 seats, no card
Pricing model
Per seat
MCP server
Official

Close

From
$19/user/moSolo monthly, $9 annual
Free plan
NoNo free plan; 14-day trial, no card
Pricing model
Per seat
MCP server
Official

Where they differ

15 points side by side. Open a value for the full detail.

WhatAttioClose
CRM on flexible objects and listsA CRM built on flexible objects and lists: people, companies, deals and custom objects, with notes, tasks, meetings and call recordings.Sales CRM built around calling, email, SMSA sales CRM built around calling, email and SMS. The top object is the Lead (a company) with contacts nested inside it.
Free plan, $0, 3 seats, no cardFree plan at $0 for up to 3 seats and 50,000 records, no credit card.No free plan; 14-day trial, no cardNo free plan. 14-day free trial with no card and $5 of calling and enrichment credits. Signup asks for a phone number and consent to calls and texts before the trial starts.
Plus $44/user/mo monthly, $35 annualPer user. Plus $44 a month billed monthly or $35 billed annually (up to 10 seats); Pro $99 monthly or $79 annually; Enterprise custom, billed annually. Verified 2026-10-25.Solo $19/user/mo monthly, $9 annualPer user. Solo $19 monthly or $9 billed annually (1 user, 10,000 leads); Essentials $49 or $35; Growth $109 or $99; Scale $149 or $139. Verified 2026-10-25.
Every plan, Free includedAPI and webhook access, the App SDK and the MCP server on every plan, Free included. The SQL endpoint is Enterprise only.All four plansAPI access and the event log are included on all four plans.
Bearer API key, OAuth 2.0 for appsWorkspace API key sent as Authorization: Bearer (HTTP Basic also accepted). OAuth 2.0 for apps used across workspaces.API key over HTTP Basic, OAuth 2.0API key sent with HTTP Basic: the key is the username and the password is empty. OAuth 2.0 for apps.
100 reads, 25 writes a second100 requests a second for reads and 25 a second for writes, across the workspace. Each record created inline by reference counts as one more write.Per-key numbers not publishedPer endpoint group. Each API key has a lower limit than the organization, which gets 3 times the per-key limit. Per-key numbers are not published; read the RateLimit header.
No batch endpointNo batch record endpoint. Records are written one call at a time within the 25 writes a second limit.No batch create; bulk actions on searchesNo batch create endpoint. Bulk actions edit, delete, email or add to a sequence every lead that matches a saved search or query.
PUT upsert on domain or emailPUT upsert matches on a unique attribute: domains for companies, email addresses for people. A plain create with an existing domain is rejected.Search first, merge duplicates by APIFind existing leads with Advanced Filtering (POST /data/search/) before you create, and merge duplicates with POST /lead/merge/.
Every plan, signedOn every plan. Events for records, lists, notes, tasks, comments and activities, with optional filters, signed with HMAC-SHA256.Signed subscriptions, retries up to 72 hoursSubscriptions with optional filters, signed with HMAC-SHA256. Failed deliveries retry for up to 72 hours; a subscription that fails for 3 days is paused until you re-activate it by API. An event log keeps 30 days of changes.
YesOfficial, at mcp.attio.com/mcp. OAuth only: you sign in as your Attio user, no API key.YesOfficial, at mcp.close.com/mcp with OAuth 2.0, or an API key in a header. Three scopes: read, safe writes and destructive writes.
Email from Plus, sequences on ProEnhanced email sending from Plus. Call Intelligence and sequences on Pro. No dialer is listed on the pricing page.Email, calling, SMS built in (Essentials per plan cards)Built-in email, calling and SMS: Close's plan cards list them from Essentials, though another Close page says Solo includes them; power dialer and bulk email on Growth; predictive dialer on Scale. Calls are charged at cost, most outbound calls about $0.02 a minute.
Every plan, Free includedWorkflows listed on every plan, Free included.From GrowthNot on Solo or Essentials. Automated workflows start on Growth.
Seat plus workspace creditsSeat credits (100 to 2,500 a user a month by plan) plus workspace credits (250 to 10,000 a month). Extra workspace credits from $85 a month for 5,000 (Plus and up).500 to 2,000 AI credits/user/mo500 to 2,000 AI credits a user a month by plan, refreshed monthly with no rollover. More can be bought.
Not stated in docs or pricingNot stated on the pricing or docs pages we downloaded; the trust page did not render without a browser.SOC2 Type 2, GDPR and CCPA pagesSOC2 Type 2 listed on the pricing page, with GDPR and CCPA pages in the footer.
Free or low-cost CRM with APITeams that want a free or low-cost CRM with the API, webhooks and MCP from day one and custom data models.Inside sales calling, emailing, textingInside-sales teams that call, email and text from the CRM.

Pricing, plan by plan

US dollars as each vendor's page showed them on 25 Oct 2026. One panel per tool; switch each between monthly and annual billing (an annual price is the monthly rate when you pay for the year up front).

Attio

4 plans · API review

Free

$0

Free

Up to 3 seats, 50,000 records, up to 3 objects (no custom objects), 100 seat credits per user and 250 workspace credits a month.

API included
Plan details

API, webhooks, App SDK, MCP and workflows. No credit card.

Plus

$44/mo

billed monthly

$35/mo

billed annually

Per user: $44 a month billed monthly or $35 a month billed annually.

API included
Plan details

Up to 10 seats, 250,000 records, up to 5 objects, 500 seat credits per user and 1,500 workspace credits a month.

Pro

$99/mo

billed monthly

$79/mo

billed annually

Per user: $99 a month billed monthly or $79 a month billed annually.

API included
Plan details

Unlimited seats, 1,000,000 records, up to 12 objects, custom objects, Call Intelligence and sequences, 1,000 seat credits per user and 10,000 workspace credits a month.

Enterprise

Custom quote

Custom price, billed annually.

API included
Plan details

Unlimited objects and teams, 2,500 seat credits per user a month, SQL endpoint.

Close

4 plans · API review

Solo

$19/mo

billed monthly

$9/mo

billed annually

Per user: $19 a month billed monthly or $9 a month billed annually.

API included
Plan details

1 user, 10,000 leads, no workflows, 500 AI credits a month.

Essentials

$49/mo

billed monthly

$35/mo

billed annually

Per user: $49 a month billed monthly or $35 a month billed annually.

API included
Plan details

Unlimited contacts and leads, built-in forms, email, calling and SMS, no workflows, 1,000 AI credits per user a month.

Growth

$109/mo

billed monthly

$99/mo

billed annually

Per user: $109 a month billed monthly or $99 a month billed annually.

API included
Plan details

Adds automated workflows, power dialer, custom activities and bulk email, 1,500 AI credits per user a month, 1 free secondary org.

Scale

$149/mo

billed monthly

$139/mo

billed annually

Per user: $149 a month billed monthly or $139 a month billed annually.

API included
Plan details

Adds role-based permissions, predictive dialer, unlimited call recording retention and live call coaching, 2,000 AI credits per user a month.

Which one to pick

Choose Attio if

  • You want to start free: Attio Free covers up to 3 seats and 50,000 records with no card.
  • You load records by API and want the CRM itself to stop duplicates: upserts match on domain and email.
  • You want webhooks, workflows and an MCP server on the free plan.
  • You need custom objects and lists shaped to your own data (custom objects from Pro).

Choose Close if

  • Your reps call, email and text from the CRM: Close has built-in calling and SMS (from Essentials on its plan cards).
  • You want a power dialer (Growth) or a predictive dialer (Scale).
  • You want bulk edits, emails or sequence enrolment over a saved search through the API.
  • You need a low-cost single seat: Solo is $9 a month billed annually for 1 user.
  • You want an MCP server you can also reach with an API key and scoped permissions.

If neither fits: Both store your own records; neither is a prospect database. If the job is finding contacts to put into the CRM, find and verify their emails first, then load them into whichever CRM you pick.

How to find a person's work email address

Want us to build it for you?

Choosing between Attio and Close, or moving from one to the other? Tell us your setup. We will show you how we would run it, and what we would check first.

Questions people ask

Does Attio or Close have a free plan?

Attio does: its Free plan costs $0 for up to 3 seats and 50,000 records, with the API, webhooks and MCP included and no card. Close has no free plan; it offers a 14-day trial with no card and $5 of calling and enrichment credits, and signup asks for a phone number.

How much do Attio and Close cost per user?

Attio Plus is $35 a user a month billed annually ($44 monthly) and Pro is $79 ($99 monthly). Close runs from Solo at $9 billed annually ($19 monthly, 1 user) through Essentials $35, Growth $99 and Scale $139 billed annually. Prices verified 2026-10-25.

Can I bulk import records into Attio or Close through the API?

Neither has a batch create endpoint. In Attio you write records one call at a time, up to 25 writes a second, and the upsert keeps repeats from creating duplicates. In Close you create leads one at a time, then bulk actions can edit, delete, email or enrol every lead that matches a query.

Do Attio and Close work with Claude or ChatGPT?

Both run official remote MCP servers. Attio's at mcp.attio.com/mcp signs in with OAuth as your Attio user. Close's at mcp.close.com/mcp uses OAuth 2.0 or an API key header, and you choose a read, safe-write or destructive-write scope.

Does Close charge for phone calls?

Yes, by usage. Close passes calling and SMS through at cost, most outbound calls about $0.02 a minute, and phone numbers start at about $1 a month. Call recording and transcription is a $50 a month add-on per organization plus $0.02 a minute.

Read from attio.com/pricing, close.com/pricing and each tool's API docs. Verified 25 Oct 2026.